A message from the AAHN President                                                                                           

Dear Loyal AAHN members,

Happy New Year! This is a new year for AAHN in many ways, and it is a time when we need the support of ALL our members, as we bid farewell and offer our sincere thanks to Andrew VanWasshnova and Kellen Company, we launch our new website and introduce Riggs Enterprises, our new management company. The transition is not fully over – so we beg your patience as we construct the new website which includes the integration of a new association management software system. This new system will allow us to provide our members with an overall better experience and added features to be announced during the Annual Conference .  2018 promises to be our best year yet!

Now, let me introduce you to Brian and Jennifer Riggs, of Riggs Enterprise, Corp., our new Director and Associate Director respectively. They have done a yeoman’s job transitioning our management and our website that is ready to accept your membership renewal.  Please welcome them to our AAHN family!

Here are a few upcoming announcements:

·       We’ve extended the deadline for abstract submission for our fabulous meeting in San Diego (Sept. 13-15, 2018) until February 12, 2018. 

·       The deadline for all Research Grants is April 1, 2018. Only AAHN members are eligible to apply for these grants.

         The deadline for all Research Award submissions is May 1, 2018.  Only AAHN members are eligible to apply for these awards.

·       The Board passed the annual budget for 2018 – located for your review under the members only section of the website.

·       We are very excited as we plan the next AAHN conference in San Diego!  Please mark your calendars NOW for September 13-15, 2018.

·       On the financial front, our financial bottom line is better than we anticipated for the end of 2017, and we ended the year in the black, when we anticipated a negative balance. 

·       Consider running for an AAHN office! The available offices will be posted soon – stay tuned!

Your membership now is more important than ever. AAHN IS YOU! Please renew as soon as you can! Consider an institutional membership including 4 members from your school or organization for $550 (a real deal – and your logo will be posted on our website), or add a friend and receive a 1/3 discount on your regular membership.  If you have let your membership lapse for a year or more, we are offering a one time “come back to AAHN” special – you will receive the same 1/3 discount!  Details of the membership categories are on the site under “membership renewal.”

Finally, as we bid good-bye to Andrew and all our colleagues at Kellen, I wanted to provide you with their contact info in case you would like to say thank you.  Andrew VanWasshnova - [email protected]

Best wishes for a heathy and prosperous 2018!

Mary E. Gibson, PhD, RN

AAHN President

The Benefits of Membership

History provides current nurses with the same intellectual and political tools that determined nursing pioneers applied to shape nursing values and beliefs to the social context of their times. Nursing history is not an ornament to be displayed on anniversary days, nor does it consist of only happy stories to be recalled and retold on special occasions. Nursing history is a vivid testimony, meant to incite, instruct and inspire today's nurses as they bravely tread the winding path of a reinvented health care system.

To find out about these nursing pioneers and their efforts, join the American Association for the History of Nursing.

Click here to join

What's Happening?


The American Association for the History of Nursing (AAHN) offers four awards for completed research, each presented annually at the Fall Nursing History Conference. The Teresa E. Christy Award is to acknowledge the excellence of historical research and writing done while the researcher was a doctoral student. Two of the AAHN awards recognize the work of experienced scholars in nursing history. The Lavinia L. Dock Award is presented to the author of a book noted for its outstanding research and writing. The Mary Adelaide Nutting Award is conferred on the author of a post-doctoral article in the history of nursing. The purpose of the Mary M. Roberts Award is to recognize outstanding original research and writing in an edited book of nursing history. Only AAHN members are eligible to apply for these awards.

All award submissions should be sent to AAHN headquarters, with attention made to the specific award for which you are submitting. All award submissions must be received by May 1st of each year.